47th Nationals Results

The 47^{th} Nationals were sailed at Illawarra yacht Club over the $5^{th} - 9^{th}$ January 2020. A fleet of 10 RL24s competed in the series. The fleet numbers were lower than anticipated due to the many Bushfires in New South Wales and Victoria.

The sailing on Lake Illawarra was full of challenges with winds varying form 8 knots through to 20 knots over the series, as well as the smoke haze which on Day 4 was much thicker. Fortunately, the IYC host club organised a lead boat to show the fleet the way to the marks.

A big thank you to all the IYC sailing volunteers who acted as Race Officer, Time Keeper and Rescue boat operators for each day of the series. The courses were true and of a good length with excellent starting lines set for each race.

ROB LEGG INVITATION SERIES

This Nationals saw the introduction of the Rob Legg Invitation Series as a new perpetual Trophy to honour both the contribution of Rob Legg to the design of RL 24s as well as to be a permanent memorial to Rob Legg.

The Rob Legg Invitation Series was a set of 3 short course races sailed on the first day of the Nationals with all RL24s competing based on their Drop Keel or Swing Keel CBH. The 3 races were sailed in 14-18 knots winds. In Heat 1 less than 6 minutes separated the whole fleet. In Heat 2 the fleet was close with just 4 minutes separating all the RL24s. In Heat 3, 7 minutes separated the whole fleet.

Rob Legg Invitation Series Results

Place	Boat Name	Sail No.	Skipper
1 st	Liquid Limo	211	Matt Harper
2 nd	Dodgy Vindaloo	111	Tim Jackman
3 rd	Spiral Navigator	47	Gretta Hill
4 th	Ringleader	234	Colin Boylan
5 th	Octantis	315	Martin O'Shannessy

Championship Series

Swing Keel Division

In the Swing Keel Division, close race between all 5 Swing Keel RL24s was one of the highlights of the series. Often less than 3 minutes separated the fleet. Liquid Limo sailed by Matt Harper and family were the outstanding performers with First places in every day. Well Done! The racing for second and third places was a tight tussle between Ringleader sailed by Colin Boylan and family and Spiral Navigator sailed by Gretta and Wayne Hill and crew. Doug Dyce sailing Gundaroo II with Phil Lowe, Peter Liddle and Vince Zweers as crew all from IYC showed considerable

improvement over series and finished in fourth place while Summer Dream sailed by Rod Smith and crew in fifth place.

Swing Keel Division Championship Results

Place	Boat Name	Sail No.	Skipper
1 st	Liquid Limo	211	Matt Harper
2 nd	Ringleader	234	Colin Boylan
3 rd	Spiral Navigator	47	Gretta Hill
4 th	Gundaroo 11	242	Doug Dyce
5 th	Summer Dream	447	Rod Smith

Drop Keel Division

In the Drop Keel Division, all 5 Drop Keel RL24s sailed very well with some very close racing. Once again, the sailing ability of Simon Walsh on Ohua Rua was outstanding. Both Dodgy Vindaloo sailed by Tim Jackman and crew and Lowana V sailed by Simon Vaughan and crew consistently were close to Ohua Rua. The tussle between Dodgy Vindaloo and Lowana V was very close with just 0.25 point separating each boat at the finish.

Drop Keel Division Championship Results

Place	Boat Name	Sail No.	Skipper
1 st	Ohua Rua	199	Simon Walsh
2 nd	Dodgy Vindaloo	111	Tim Jackman
3 rd	Lowana V	402	Simon Vaughan
4 th	Cover to Cover	168	Charles Webb Wagg
5 th	Octantis	315	Martin O'Shannessy

Handicap Series Results

The Handicap series was based on all 10 entrants and used a Personal Boat Handicap for each entrant as the starting point. The Rob Legg Invitation Series results from all 3 races were used to calculate each boat's PBH.

One of the very pleasing outcomes from this system was just how close the handicap finishing places were. Often less than 5 minutes separated all 10 RL24s on handicap corrected time in each of the 7 races for the Handicap trophy.

Handicap Results

Place	Boat Name	Sail No.	Skipper
1 st	Gundaroo 11	242	Doug Dyce
2 nd	Ringleader	234	Colin Boylan
3 rd	Ohua Rua	199	Simon Walsh
4 th	Lowana V	402	Simon Vaughan
5 th	Cover to Cover	168	Charles Webb Wagg

6 th	Dodgy Vindaloo	111	Tim Jackman
7 th	Spiral Navigator	47	Gretta Hill
8 th	Liquid Limo	211	Matt Harper
9 th	Octantis	315	Martin O'Shannessy
10 th	Summer Dream	447	Rod Smith

Over the Handicap series each of these RL24s gained first place in one race: Gundaroo 2, Ohua Rua, Cover to Cover, Lowana V, and Summer Dream.

The biggest improvement in boat performance over the 7 heats was Gundaroo 2 sailed by Doug Dyce with Phil Lowe, Peter Liddle and Vince Zweers as crew. A great set of results.